Call Now For a Free Consultation 208-552-0467

Safety Restraint UseSeatbelt use could be the difference between life and death but it is also the law. The following is the Idaho Rules of the Road concerning seatbelt use.

Idaho Code § 49-673. SAFETY RESTRAINT USE

Except as provided in section 49-672, Idaho Code, and subsection (2) of this section, each occupant of a motor vehicle that has a gross vehicle weight of not more than eight thousand (8,000) pounds, and that was manufactured with safety restraints in compliance with federal motor vehicle safety standard no. 208, shall have a safety restraint properly fastened about his body at all times when the vehicle is in motion.

  • The provisions of this section shall not apply to:
    • An occupant of a motor vehicle who possesses a written statement from a licensed physician that he is unable for medical reasons to wear a safety restraint;
    • Occupants of motorcycles, implements of husbandry and emergency vehicles;
    • Occupants of seats of a motor vehicle in which all safety restraints are then properly in use by other occupants of that vehicle; or
    • Mail carriers.
  • A citation may be issued to:
    • Any occupant of the motor vehicle age eighteen (18) years or older who fails to wear a safety restraint as required in this section; and

The operator of the motor vehicle if the operator is age eighteen (18) years or older and any occupant under eighteen (18) years of age who fails to wear a safety restraint as required in this section. For purposes of this paragraph (a)(ii), it shall be deemed a single violation regardless of the number of occupants not properly restrained.

A person issued a citation pursuant to this subsection shall be subject to a fine of ten dollars ($10.00), with five dollars ($5.00) of such fine to be apportioned to the catastrophic health care cost fund, as set forth in section 57-813, Idaho Code. A conviction under this subsection shall not result in violation point counts as prescribed in section 49-326, Idaho Code, nor shall such a conviction be deemed to be a moving traffic violation for the purpose of establishing rates of motor vehicle insurance charged by a casualty insurer.

  • A citation may be issued to the operator of the motor vehicle if the operator is under eighteen (18) years of age and the operator or any other occupant who is under eighteen (18) years of age fails to wear a safety restraint as required in this section. For purposes of this subsection, it shall be deemed a single violation regardless of the number of occupants not properly restrained. A person issued a citation pursuant to this subsection shall be subject to a fine of ten dollars ($10.00), five dollars ($5.00) of such fine to be apportioned to the catastrophic health care cost fund as set forth in section 57-813, Idaho Code, plus court costs. A conviction under this subsection shall not result in violation point counts as prescribed in section 49-326, Idaho Code. In addition, a conviction under this subsection shall not be deemed to be a moving traffic violation for the purpose of establishing rates of motor vehicle insurance charged by a casualty insurer.
  • Enforcement of this section by law enforcement officers may be accomplished only as a secondary action when the operator of the motor vehicle has been detained for a suspected violation of another law.
  • The department shall initiate and conduct an educational program, to the extent sufficient private donations or federal funds for this specific purpose are available to the department, to encourage compliance with the provisions of this section and to publicize the effectiveness of use of safety restraints and other restraint devices in reducing risk of harm to occupants of motor vehicles.
  • The department shall evaluate the effectiveness of the provisions of this section and shall include a report of its findings in its annual evaluation report on the Idaho highway safety plan which it submits to the national highway traffic safety administration and federal highway administration pursuant to 23 U.S.C. section 402.

For more information about how a seatbelt helps during a car crash, click here to read our blog post on the subject.

Car Accident Attorneys at Brent Gordon Law

If you’ve been injured in a car accident, call the experienced attorneys at Brent Gordon Law to handle your case. Call now for a free consultation.

Other Idaho Rules of the Road

Here are some other Idaho Rules of the Road so you can know your rights after being in a car accident.

Idaho Falls Law Office

Our Idaho Falls, Idaho law office services clients in and surrounding Idaho Falls, including for injuries and accidents in Ammon, Rigby, injuries and accidents in Shelly and Blackfoot, and injuries and accidents in Rexburg. If you are looking for an attorney in the Idaho Falls area, visit or call our Idaho Falls office now. 477 Shoup Ave, Suite 101 Idaho Falls, ID 83402 Phone:(208) 552-0467

Gordon Law Idaho Falls

Brent Gordon Law

Pocatello Law Office

Our Pocatello, Idaho law office services clients in and surrounding Pocatello, including for injuries and accidents in Chubbuck. If you are looking for an attorney in the Pocatello area, call our Pocatello office now. Our experienced personal injury attorneys will work hard to get you the compensation you deserve. Call (208) 232-7274 for a free consultation. 154 North Main St. Pocatello, ID 83204 Phone:(208) 232-7274

Gordon Law Pocatello

Brent Gordon Law